Skip to content

Viennese Biscuits

January 25, 2014

I just love the melt in your mouth, sweet taste of a Viennese biscuit. They are delicious either dipped in chocolate or filled with buttercream and jam. Today I decided to dip them in chocolate using the bar of milk chocolate I had tucked away in the kitchen cupboard.

We had already decided to go up to my mum’s house for a cup of tea this afternoon and I took a tin of these biscuits with me. As we both love baking it was like afternoon tea; my Viennese biscuits looked beautiful on a cake stand with mum’s homemade scones and ginger biscuits. My 1 year old nephew definitely enjoyed his first afternoon tea.

20140125-175020.jpg

Here’s the recipe I used:

Ingredients
250g unsalted butter
55g icing sugar
225g plain flour
75g corn flour
1tsp vanilla extract
Chocolate

20140125-174716.jpg

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and line a baking tray with baking paper.
2. Soften the butter in the microwave for about 30 secs.
3. Mix together the other ingredients in a large bowl.
4. Add the butter and vanilla extract then mix until all the ingredients are combined in to a smooth paste.
5. Put the paste into a piping bag and pipe the biscuits on to a tray, making sure they are spaced out, as they will spread when baking.
6. Bake the biscuits for 15 minutes, until they are lightly golden brown.
7. Let the biscuits cool on a wire rack while you melt the chocolate.
8. Dip each of the biscuits in the melted chocolate and place on baking paper.
9. Put the biscuits in the fridge to let the chocolate set.

Enjoy x

20140125-175150.jpg

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Love this recipe, a whole bunch of simple ingredient for a delicious outcome!

Leave a comment