Skip to content

Christmas Holidays 2013

January 5, 2014

I feel like I have neglected my blog over the past few months; only posting the odd recipe.   I thought I’d look back at the baking and cake decorating  I have enjoyed over the three weeks of Christmas.  I will share with you some of the recipes I have used recently and publish those I amended as I went along.

I started the holidays frantically decorating cakes to give to friends and family as gifts for Christmas.  I made twenty mini Christmas cakes using the Baked Bean Tin Christmas Cake idea from ‘Butcher, Baker’.  I wanted each one to be different which was a challenge in itself.

Here are a few of them:

067 069 050 047 046 045

They were all iced with fondant icing except one I made for a friend who loves royal icing.

117

And of course there was the family Christmas cake which I iced on Christmas Eve; just in time for the big day.

137

As well as cake decorating I have baked lots of different things; trying my hand at both pastry and bread.

First of all I made a Mincemeat Frangipane Tart using a jar of mincemeat but adding a beautiful almond frangipane cake as a topping instead of more pastry.  Delicious with a glass of white wine after a day of Christmas preparations.

081 088 091

I also tried two of Paul Hollywood’s recipes this Christmas: Boxing day Chelsea Buns and Stollen.  Both of these recipes went down extremely well with the family.  I’ll be using the Chelsea Bun recipe as a basis for other similar bakes in 2014 and the family have already started giving me possible flavour combinations.

There’s nothing better than a little bit of chocolate over Christmas so I decided to make some Cherry Brandy Chocolate Brownies. I think Brandy makes everything taste Christmassy.  Here’s the recipe:  Cherry Brandy Chocolate Brownies.

The New Year’s Eve Lemon Meringue Pie recipe was recommended to me by a fellow baker through twitter, after I had a not so good attempt a couple of months a go.  It is my husband’s favourite so I knew I had to master it for him.  Here’s a link to the recipe:  Lemon Meringue Pie.

So here it a collage of my Christmas of Baking 2013.  Happy New Year to all my followers on here, on twitter @Luciebaking and on Facebook.  Here’s to another year of baking…Lucie xx

070

Happy New Year to all my followers on here, on twitter @Luciebaking and on Facebook.

Here’s to another year of baking…Lucie xx

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

