Skip to content

Dulce de Leche Cupcakes

March 22, 2013

20130322-190048.jpg

20130322-190054.jpg

Today I baked for the first time this week! I am recovering from a kidney infection which has caused a flare up in my arthritis symptoms. I have struggled to think about cakes and definitely haven’t had the energy to stand in the kitchen baking. My appetite has been poor and my diet has been mainly toast!

This morning I was feeling less sickly and could face looking at recipes again. I spotted one for Dulce de Leche cakes and really wanted one. Pleased that my appetite was returning I put a can of condensed milk in a pan of boiling water and left it for 1 and a half hours.

Then I made some chocolate cupcakes and some Dulce de Leche buttercream. When the cakes had cooled I cut a hole in the top and filled the cake with a teaspoon of Dulce de Leche then piped the buttercream on the cake. To finish off I drizzled the iced cakes with some of the left over Dulce de Leche.

I usually make cupcakes as a quick treat for the family but these took me all afternoon and I was exhausted afterwards. I haven’t tasted one yet but my son gave the 9/10! Not bad all considered!

Here’s the recipe.

Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients:
85g light brown sugar
85g caster sugar
170g Stork margarine
140g self raising flour
3 eggs
30g cocoa powder
1tsp baking powder
2tbsp milk

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees celsius

Method:
1. Combine the flour and baking powder.
2. Heat the milk and mix in the cocoa powder until it resembles a smooth chocolate paste.
3. Cream together the margarine, sugar and chocolate paste until light and fluffy.
4. Add the eggs, one at a time, with a spoonful of the flour mixture. Beat well each time until all the flour mixture and eggs have been added.
5. Divide the mixture 16 cupcake cases and bake in the oven for 20 minutes until a skewer comes out clean.
6. Leave on a wire rack to cool.

Dulce de Leche buttercream

Ingredients:
110g margarine
500g icing sugar
3 tbsp Dulce de Leche

Method:
Beat together all the buttercream ingredients and pipe on to the cooled cupcakes. Decorate the cakes with a drizzle of Dulce de Leche.

20130323-114453.jpg

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Yummy! Your post is making me so hungry now! =D

  2. Oh my these look delicious!! 🙂 xx

    • luciebaking permalink

      Thank you 🙂 I must make them again soon. They went down very well with the family.

  3. Reblogged this on Cameo Party Designs – DIY Printable Party Decorations and commented:
    Oh my goodness, I have got to try these! I bet these would be yummy with a hot cup of coffee!

Leave a Reply

