Skip to content

Decorating the Christmas Cake

December 8, 2012

Today was the day to start icing the Christmas cake, as next weekend will be a busy one. I’m a complete amateur when it comes to icing cakes. In fact this is only my second ever, the first being my son’s 13th Birthday Cake.

I started by brushing the top of the cake with a mixture of apricot jam and brandy, heated until melted.

20121208-173417.jpg

Then I covered the cake in marzipan and put it aside to dry out.

Meanwhile I mixed some royal icing and spread it thinly on to the cake board. I rolled out some light blue fondant icing and covered the board.

I’d bought a matching ribbon in the local market this morning so put it round the edge of the board.

The next step was to roll out the white icing to cover the cake and marzipan. I’d watched a couple it tutorial online for the best way to roll out and smooth the icing.

After that I rolled small balls of icing in blue and white, to place around the edge of the cake. I stuck them on to the covered board with the royal icing I’d mixed earlier. After going around the edge of the cake with the fondant icing balls I placed a small silver ball between each one. I then brushed over the top of them all with edible glitter.

20121208-174217.jpg

20121208-174502.jpg

20121208-174133.jpg

Tomorrow I’m going to finish decorating the cake so I’ll post an update when it’s finished.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

