Skip to content

Honey and Raisin Cupcakes

July 21, 2012

Yesterday was my last day at work for six weeks and this is my first bake of the summer holidays.   This summer I’m looking forward to spending time with my family, having a break from the daily routines, being able to concentrate on baking and having the time to update the blog.  (I have a few draft posts that need finishing and publishing)

A few weeks a go I bought a squeezy bottle of honey and wanted to use it in my baking . I also wanted to try making a cream cheese icing for my cakes.  After a lengthy search on the internet for an easy honey cake recipe, I decided I would make it up as I went along.  Adding raisins and cinnamon to the cake mix seemed to make sense to me  as I thought they’d go well with the cream cheese icing.

20120721-201720.jpg

Honey and Raisin Cupcakes

Ingredients:

115g margarine
115g caster sugar
115g self raising flour
2 eggs
2 tbsp honey
50g raisins
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon

Method:

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees celsius

Method:
1. Combine the flour and baking powder.
2. Cream together the margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.
3. Add the eggs, one at a time, with a spoonful of the flour mixture. Beat well each time until all the flour mixture and eggs have been added.
4. Next add the honey, raisins and cinnamon and mix well with a wooden spoon.
5. Divide the mixture between 12 cupcake cases and bake in the oven for 20 minutes until a skewer comes out clean.
7. Leave on a wire rack to cool.

20120721-201728.jpg

Cream cheese icing

Ingredients:

35g margarine
100g cream cheese
200g icing sugar

Method:

Before mixing the ingredients together ensure the cream cheese is very cold and the margarine is very soft.

Mix all of the ingredients together with a wooden spoon and beat gently until smooth.

After the ingredients were mixed together I popped the icing in the freezer for 15 minutes, to chill it quickly before piping on to the cakes.

I thought these cakes were delicious and would recommend you give it a go.

🙂

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Sounds and looks delicious!!

  2. paulajw permalink

    They look delicious! Isn’t it great to have a school holiday break? I’m also have a backlog of blog posts to finish and finalise and am enjoying the time i have now to catch up. Hooray for holidays!

Leave a Reply

