Skip to content

Happy 13th Birthday

June 29, 2012

This week I became the mother of a teenager. This gave me the ideal opportunity to bake and decorate a cake. I am definitely not an expert, in fact this was my first ever attempt at covering a cake in sugar paste icing and decorating it with my own design.

20120629-171340.jpg

Dylan loves music. He plays piano, saxophone, ukulele and recently he has started teaching himself to play the guitar. This is why I chose the music theme.

I work full-time (in a pretty stressful job) so I had to plan the cake and put it together in stages, over a few days.

Day 1

The decorations

I used red, white and black ready-made sugar paste to make cupcake toppers and decorations for the birthday cake.

20120629-171314.jpg

I cut out the shapes using the cutters I bought on a recent visit to Windsor Cake Craft, Warrington. Then put them in an airtight container to use when ready.

20120629-171326.jpg

Day 2

The cake

I used the recipe for a vanilla layer cake, out of The Primrose Bakery book ‘Cupcakes from the Primrose Bakery’

Pre-heat the oven to 160 degrees celsius and grease and line two 20cm cake tins.

Ingredients:
225g margarine
225g caster sugar
210g self raising flour
25g cornflour
1 tsp baking powder
4 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla essence
3 tbsp milk

Method:
1. Combine the flour, cornflour and baking powder.
2. Cream together the margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.
3. Add the eggs, one at a time, with a spoonful of the flour mixture. Beat well each time until all the flour mixture and eggs have been added.
4. Finally add the milk and vanilla essence.
5. Divide the mixture between the two cake tins and bake in the oven for 25 minutes until a skewer comes out clean.
6. Leave on a wire rack to cool.

After the cake had cooled I put it in an airtight container and left it overnight.

20120629-171417.jpg

Day 3

Decorating the cake

Before decorating the cake I filled it with jam and buttercream.

Ingredients:
110g margarine
2 tbsp milk
1tsp vanilla essence
500g icing sugar

Method:
Beat together all the ingredients.

(I don’t strictly follow the recipe for the buttercream but add ingredients according to taste and consistency).

20120629-171527.jpg

Before rolling out the sugar paste icing I covered the filled cake with thin layer of buttercream. Nervously, I rolled out the sugar paste and placed it over the cake, smoothing it down gently. I polished the cake with an icing smoother and cut off the excess icing. I wrapped a ribbon around the base and decorated the cake using the shapes I had made on Day 1.

Finally it was ready for the birthday boy.

🙂

While I was decorating the cake I had a batch of vanilla cupcakes in the oven. When they had cooled, I piped a swirl of buttercream on each one and then placed, a previously made topper, on top. All the cakes went down well and I was pleased with my first attempt at decorating a cake.

20120629-171352.jpg

I’m now planning more birthdays, Christmas and the arrival of a very special baby (my niece or nephew). All these events will be celebrated with a special cake and some cupcakes.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Everything looks so cute!

  2. OMG. you make such lovely bakes! Yummy! =)

  3. Lucie I’m mega impressed! Hidden talents! 🙂 roll on summer and more baking time! x

  4. lucie193 permalink

    Thanks Ruth x

Leave a Reply

