Skip to content

Sticky Gingerbread

June 16, 2012

In order to take part in the Weekly Bake-Off I had to go and find a copy of Mary Berry’s ‘100 Cakes and Bakes’.   I managed to find it in the local supermarket and couldn’t wait to get home, read the recipes and decide what to bake first.  On page 115 I was delighted to see a recipe for Sticky Gingerbread and decided this would be my first bake.

Gingerbread, for me, is real comfort food.  It reminds me of  cold autumn days and bonfire night celebrations when I was a small child.

20120616-182642.jpg

Recently I have enjoyed more than my fair share of Gingerbread.

Three weeks a go I was I on an outdoor adventure week with my class and the pupils were asked to bring with them a tray bake, to share with hot chocolate or to use as a snack during the days of activities.  My favourite was the ginger cake one of the other staff members had made for us.  It kept me going on the canoeing day, when we were out climbing and on the day we walked 10 miles around the Ennerdale valley.

Although I love it, I had never made it before.  So, as the rain fell, on a cold, Saturday in June,  in the Northwest of England I was busy making my first ever Sticky Gingerbread.

I followed Mary Berry’s recipe to the letter and I was pleased with the way it turned out.

20120616-182657.jpg

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

