Skip to content

Vanilla Cheesecake

May 12, 2012

Last night I went to my mum and dad’s house for an evening of curry, wine and delicious puddings. Mum made one of her much requested Pavlovas and I decided to try my hand at a Vanilla Cheesecake, which is my sister’s favourite pudding.

As usual I didn’t stick to one recipe but combined a few from the Internet and recipe books. I wanted to make the base deep with a thick layer of creamy cheesecake on the top so I had to increase the ingredients.

Ingredients:

250g digestive biscuits, crushed to a fine crumb
100g margarine/butter
50g caster sugar
600g cream cheese
150g icing sugar
2tsp vanilla essence
300ml double cream

Method:

1. Mix the sugar and biscuit crumbs.
2. Melt the margarine/butter and add to the biscuit. Mix well.
3. Spoon the biscuit mixture in to well-greased loose bottom cake tin and press down firmly.
4. Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes.
5. Beat together the cream cheese, icing sugar and vanilla essence.
6. Whip the double cream and then fold in to the cream cheese mix a spoonful at a time.
7. Spoon the mixture on to the biscuit base and smooth out.
8. Place the cheesecake in the fridge for 1 hour or until it is set.
9. Cut in to slices and serve with fruit or on its own.

The ingredients above made one large cheesecake and an individual one for the babysitter. I struggled to get a photograph that does it justice but it was a delicious dessert which we all enjoyed. It was an easy recipe to follow and I will definitely make it again.

20120512-092436.jpg

20120512-092446.jpg

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. This sounds great! I do adore cheesecake.

Leave a Reply

