Skip to content

Pastry

May 5, 2012

At the moment I am waiting for my pastry to chill in the fridge so I thought I’d update my blog.

Today I am making a Bakewell tart. The first thing I have to make is the pastry. I usually use the recipe from the Be-Ro Home Recipes book but today I wanted to try something different. This morning I researched pastry recipes and decided to mix two together. Let’s hope it works.

Here it is:

Ingredients:
8oz plain flour
pinch of salt
1oz caster sugar
2oz lard (I use Trex)
2oz margarine
1 egg yolk
2tbsp of very cold water

Method:
1. Sieve together the flour, salt and sugar.
2. Rub in the fat, to resemble breadcrumbs.
3. Mix the egg yolk and water.
4. Add eggs and water to the flour mixture, a little at a time, cutting and mixing with a round bladed knife until it forms a firm dough.
5. Wrap in cling-film and pop in the fridge for 20 minutes.
6. Turn the dough out on to a lightly floured surface and roll out.
7. Use to line a lightly greased flan tin and prick with a fork.
8. Cover with a sheet of baking paper, weighed down with baking beans and then blind bake for 10-15 minutes at 200 degrees centigrade.

I’ll let you know if it works and will complete this blog later including a photo of the finished Bakewell Tart.

20120505-183238.jpg

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

