Skip to content

Bakewell Tart

May 5, 2012

I had been thinking about this bake all week, inspired by the almond cake on the Hairy Bikers ‘Bakeation’.  It made me think about the classic Bakewell Tart and I realised I had never made one.  How difficult could it be?

So last week I scoured the recipe books and searched on the internet for the perfect recipe.  The recipe I used was a combination of things I had read and things I thought would work.

And here it is. The finished tart.

20120505-195749.jpg

The recipe.

First of all I made the pastry and baked it blind for 10 minutes.  When I took the pastry out of the oven it had shrunk away from the sides a little so next time I will leave the sides to over hang the flan tin slightly and cut them down when it comes out of the oven.  While the pastry was cooling down I made the almond cake topping.

Ingredients:
120g margarine
120g caster sugar
2 eggs
60g self-raising flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
100g ground almonds
1/2 tsp almond essence
3 tbsp of raspberry jam

For the icing:
100g icing sugar
1tbsp (approx) cold water

Method:
1. Cream the marg and sugar in a bowl until light and fluffy.
2. Add the eggs, one at a time, with a little flour and beat well.
3. Add the remaining flour, baking powder, almonds and almond essence and mix thoroughly.
4. Spread the jam on to the cooled pastry case.
5. Spoon the cake mixture on top of the jam and spread out evenly.
6. Bake in the oven at 180 degrees centigrade for 30 minutes, until the filling is golden and firm to the touch.
7. Allow to cool before removing carefully from the tin.
8. Mix the icing sugar and water and drizzle over the cooled tart.
9. Enjoy!

I was surprised how easy it was to make and was really pleased with the way the Bakewell Tart turned out. (I even gave a couple of slices to a friend to try out.)

This is one treat I will definitely make again.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. It. Was. Incredible.

Leave a Reply

