Skip to content

My search for the perfect scone recipe

April 22, 2012

My search for the perfect scone recipe

The ability to make the perfect scone has eluded me for years. I have tried many recipes but never mastered the technique, ending up with flat, biscuit-like scones.

Ever since I was young I have loved a scone with jam and cream on a Saturday afternoon. I have fond memories of the morning break scones at Barrow 6th Form College (1989-91). We would wait for the hatch to open and then race to the counter to be the first to purchase a warm, well risen scone before they ran out. I am determined to recreate the perfect scones from my memories and after today I feel like I am getting there.

This weekend I think I have eventually found a recipe for rather good scones. I found it by looking through other blogs and found it on http://www.teaandscones.org.uk/blogs/index.php
I used the recipe on the blog as the basis for my scones but made a few changes.

My first attempt yesterday was a disaster. The oven was too hot and I left them in too long. The result was slightly charred scones but I didn’t let that put me off and today I tried again. Instead of full fat milk I used buttermilk and put the teaspoon of lemon juice in to that. I was pleased with the result and relieved that my scones are getting better. Fingers crossed that with a little more practise I might finally produce the perfect scone.

Ingredients:
200g Self Raising flour
50g Stork Margarine
150ml Buttermilk
1 Teaspoon lemon juice or vinegar
50g Caster sugar
50g Raisins
1 Teaspoon baking powder
pinch salt

Method:
1. Preheat the over to 220 degrees centigrade.
2. Place the teaspoon of lemon juice/vinegar into the milk.
3. Sieve the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt into a large bowl.
4. Cut the margarine into small cubes and drop into the flour. With your fingertips rub the butter into the flour until there are no lumps of butter. It will look and feel like breadcrumbs.
5. Make a well into the ‘crumb’ mixture and pour in the milk.
6. Cut and fold the mixture until combined and makes a soft loose ball. If you find the mixture is very sticky just sprinkle in some more flour.
7. Scoop up the soft dough ball and place on a floured board or table top. The flour will prevent it from sticking.
8. Pat down the ball until it is about 2 cm thick (no thinner) and looks reasonably smooth on top (you could use a rolling pin).
9. Cut out the scone shapes with a fluted round scone cutter and place the shapes onto a floured baking tray.
10. Once you have finished cutting out the shapes, roll up the remaining dough into a ball and repeat the process until all used up.
11. If desired, paint the top of the raw scones with milk or beaten egg to create a glazed top.
12. Place in the hot oven for about 9 – 10 minutes until risen and golden brown. Check that the base of the scone is also a nice brown.
13. Cool and the serve with some good quality jam and either clotted cream, whipped cream or butter.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

